

STATE OF CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES AND PUBLIC PROTECTION DIVISION OF STATE POLICE Special Licensing and Firearms Unit



PISTOL PERMIT/ELIGIBILITY CERTIFICATE APPLICATION

(Pursuant to C.G.S. §§ 29-28 et. seq., 29-36 et. seq., and 53a-217 et. seq.)

Before completing this application, it is suggested that you review the Connecticut General Statutes pertaining to firearms. These can be accessed on the Internet at www.cga.ct.gov or through your local library. **Type of Permit Requested:** Check Box: 60 Day Temporary State Pistol Permit Non-Resident State Pistol Permit Eligibility Certificate to Purchase Pistols or Revolvers Eligibility Certificate to Purchase Long Guns Instructions: Instructions for Eligibility Instructions for Non-Resident **Certificates to Purchase Pistols** Instructions for State Pistol Permits: **State Pistol Permits:** or Revolvers and/or Eligibility **Certificates to Purchase Long** Guns:

****CALL DESPP FOR PACKET****

You must hold a valid permit or

Complete this form and submit to DESPP, Division of State Police, pistol

permit location along with all of the

jurisdiction.

following:

Certificate;

license to carry a pistol or revolver

issued by a recognized United States

Completed State of CT and Federal

fingerprint card with \$75.00 fee and

\$13.25 fee, payable to Treasurer,

State of Connecticut for criminal

\$70.00 fee, payable to Treasurer,

Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers

Completed DPS-129-C signed and

notarized and 2x2 color photograph

Copy of the permit or license to carry

a pistol or revolver issued to you by a

recognized United States jurisdiction;

the United States (e.g., certified copy

Proof you are legally and lawfully in

of birth certificate, U.S. passport or

documentation issued by I.C.E.);and

Completed Application for State

history background checks;

State of Connecticut;

form (DPS-46-C);

(passport style);

State of Issue: ____

Permit Number:

Expiration Date:

Firearms Safety & Use Course

- 1. Complete this form (DPS-799-C) and submit to appropriate local authority (local police, resident state trooper or first select person, as applicable) along with all of the following:
 - Firearms Safety & Use Course Certificate;
 - \$70.00, fee, payable to the local authority; and
 - Proof you are legally and lawfully in the United States (e.g., certified copy of birth certificate, U.S. passport or documentation issued by I.C.E.).
- 2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal history check through a law enforcement agency. Fees include a \$75.00 fee and a \$13.25 fee, payable at the agency where the prints are taken. Fees must be paid by separate checks.
- 3. Upon approval, the local authority will issue a Temporary State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers (DPS-11-C), effective for 60 days.
- 4. Within the 60 day period, go to a DESPP, Division of State Police, pistol permit location and submit the following:
 - The Temporary State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers (DPS-11-C) issued by the local authority;
 - A completed Application for State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers (DPS-46-C);
 - \$70.00 fee, payable to Treasurer, State of Connecticut;
 - Proof you are legally and lawfully in the United States (e.g., certified copy of birth certificate, U.S. passport or documentation issued by I.C.E.); and
 - Proof of valid state issued photo identification card.

5. Upon approval, your photograph will be taken at DESPP and you will be issued a state pistol permit. Proof of valid state issued photo identification card.
 Out of State Pistol Permit Information:

Complete this form and submit in person at DESPP Headquarters, Division of State Police, located at 1111 Country Club Road, Middletown, Connecticut along with the below:
 Firearms Safety & Use Course

- Certificate; \$35.00 fee, payable to Treasurer, State of Connecticut;
- Application for a State Eligibility Certificate for a Pistol or Revolver or for Long Guns (DPS-164-C);
- Proof you are legally and lawfully in the United States (e.g., certified copy of birth certificate, U.S. passport or documentation issued by I.C.E.); and
- Proof of valid state issued photo identification card.
- 2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal history check through a law enforcement agency. Fees include a \$75.00 fee and a \$13.25 fee, payable at the agency where the prints are taken. Fees must be paid by separate checks.
- 3. Upon approval, your photograph will be taken at DESPP and you will be issued an eligibility certificate.

For Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP), Division of State Police, pistol permit locations, access <u>www.ct.gov/despp</u> and follow the link to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit or call (860) 685-8290. Note: All payments must be made with separate checks.

STATE OF CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES AND PUBLIC PROTECTION DIVISION OF STATE POLICE

Contact / Identifying Informatio	n:		
Name of Applicant			
	Suffix		
First	Middle Initial		
Provide all other names by which you have been known (Maiden name, Aliases, Nick			
(Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)			
Date of Birth Sex Height Weight /// Month/Day/Year	Eye Color Brown Blue Black Green Gray Hazel		
Race White American Indian/Alaskan Native Black Unknown Other	Hair Color Brown Black Blonde Red Gray White Bald		
Place of Birth City/Town State	Social Security Number (Optional, but will help prevent misidentification)		
	Number (If applicable)		
Residential Address (List street address. Post office box numbers are not acce			
City/Town State Zip Code			
List Residential Addresses for the Last 7 Years (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary) *Any subsequent changes of address must be reported within 48 hours to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit 1.			
2.			
Mailing Address (If different from current residential address above)			
City/Town State	Zip Code		
Home Telephone Number Motor Vehicle Operator's License Number			
(State of Issue		
Alternate Telephone Number			
Area Code Employment History:			
List Employers for the Last 7 Years (Provide employer's name, address and telephone number) (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)			
1			
2. Permit or Eligibility Certificate Histo	NP1/1		
Have you had a firearms permit, permit application or eligibility certificate of any kind from <u>ANY</u> jurisdiction in the United States denied, suspended or revoked? NO YES			
If "YES," provide:			
1. Identify the jurisdiction which issued the denial, suspension or revocation:			
2. Date of denial, suspension or revocation:			
3. The reason for the denial, suspension or revocation:			

STATE OF CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES AND PUBLIC PROTECTION DIVISION OF STATE POLICE

Medical History:				
Have you been confined in a hospital for mental illness in the past sixty (60) months by order of a Probate Court?				
Have you been discharged from custody within the past twenty years after having been found not guilty of a crime by reason of a mental disease or defect? INO YES If "YES," explain: (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)				
Have you been voluntarily admitted to a hospital for mental illness within the past six (6) months for reasons other than solely for alcohol or drug dependence? INO YES If "YES," explain: (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)				
Notice: DESPP herein notifies the applicant that, pursuant to C.G.S. §§ 29-28 through 29-38b, DESPP will be notified by the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services if the applicant has been confined to a hospital for psychiatric disabilities within the preceding sixty (60) months by order of Probate Court, or if the applicant has been voluntarily admitted to a hospital for mental illness within the past six (6) months for reasons other than solely for alcohol or drug dependence. Criminal History:				
Have you ever been <u>ARRESTED</u> for any crime, in any jurisdiction? NO YES If "YES," list all arrests, indicating charges, locations, dates of arrest and dispositions. (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)				
charges, locations, dates of arrest and dispositions. (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)				
<i>Notice:</i> You are <i>not</i> required to disclose the existence of any arrest, criminal charge or conviction, the records of which have been erased pursuant to C.G.S. §§46b-146, 54-76o, or 54-142a. If your criminal records have been erased pursuant to one of these statutes, you may swear under oath that you have never been arrested. Criminal records that may be erased are records pertaining to a finding of delinquency or that a child was a member of a family with service needs (C.G.S. 46b-146), an adjudication as a youthful offender (C.G.S. 54-76o), a criminal charge that has been dismissed or nolled, a criminal charge for which the person has been found not guilty, or a conviction for which the person received an absolute pardon (C.G.S. 54-142a).				
With regard to criminal history information arising from jurisdictions other than the State of Connecticut: You are not required				
to disclose the existence of any arrest, criminal charge or conviction, the records of which have been erased <u>pursuant to the</u> <u>law of the other jurisdiction</u> . Additionally, you are not required to disclose the existence of an arrest arising from another jurisdiction if you are permitted under the law of that jurisdiction to swear under oath that you have never been arrested.				
Have you ever been <u>CONVICTED under the laws of this state, federal law or the laws of another jurisdiction</u> ? NO YES If "YES," list all convictions, include charges, location, date of arrest, and disposition. (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)				
Are you currently on probation, parole, work release, in an alcohol and/or drug treatment program or other pre-trial diversionary program or currently released on personal recognizance, a written promise to appear or a bail bond for a pending court case? INO IYES If "YES," explain. (Attach additional sheet(s), if necessary)				
Within the past five (5) years, have you been the subject of a Protective Order or Restraining Order issued by a court in a case involving the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force against another person, regardless of the outcome or result of any related criminal case?				
If "YES," which court issued the order?				
Military History:				
Were you ever a member of the Armed Forces of the United States? INO IYES (If yes, please include a copy of your DD-214)				

Were you ever discharged from the Armed Forces of the United States with a less than Honorable Discharge? INO YES

STATE OF CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES AND PUBLIC PROTECTION DIVISION OF STATE POLICE

	Proof of Training:	
	sting that you have completed a course in the safety and use of pistols and ing upon which permit or certificate you are requesting), signed by the instructor	
Department of Energy and Environmenta		
State Instructor's Name and ID Number:		
	Declaration:	
servant in the performance of his or her official that any statement in this application that is def such application. If approved before the facts a	which I do not believe to be true and which is intended to mislead a public function, is punishable by law (See C.G.S. § 53a-157b). I further understand termined to be false or inaccurate shall constitute grounds for the denial of are known, such approval shall be void if based on a false or inaccurate accuracy, completeness and to the truth of all information supplied on this	
I declare, under the penalties of false statement	nt, that the answers to the above are true and correct.	
Date	Signed	
STATE OF		
COUNTY OF	Print Name	
	day of 20	
Subscribed and sworn to before the this	day di 20	
	Name: Notary Public My Commission Expires: Commissioner of Superior Court	
NOTICE: Appeal Process for Permits		
Board of Firearms Permit Examiners, at 16 256-2947, in writing, within ninety (90) day	permit or eligibility certificate is denied or revoked, you may notify the 55 Capitol Ave., Suite 1070, Hartford, CT 06106. Telephone: (860) s, in order to begin your appeal process. At a hearing before the on be reconsidered or that your permit or eligibility certificate be	

For Official Use Only:				
Application Received:	FBI Sent:	No Yes	Application Status:	
Month/Day/Year	FBI Reply: ICE Response: DMHAS: SPBI: Number :	No Yes	Approved Denied (Signature and title of issuing authority)	